In general, a vegetarian does not eat any animals, including fish or other creatures of the sea. Some vegetarians even choose to stop eating dairy products and eggs. The diet varies based on the individual's beliefs or habits.
- A vegan restricts his or her intake to foods derived only from plant origin - fruits, vegetables, nuts, whole grains, seeds and legumes. They also pass over honey. The vegan does not consume meat, fish, eggs, dairy or honey.
- Lacto vegetarian includes all of the elements of a vegan diet, however, honey and dairy are allowed on the diet.
- The lacto-ovo vegetarian takes it one step further with the addition of eggs, honey and dairy.
- Lastly, semi-vegetarians consume plant foods, dairy products, eggs, fish and poultry, but they do not eat red meat.
The majority of vegetarian diets are low in animal products. Because vegetarian diets are low in total fat, saturated fat and cholesterol, they lessen the risk of obesity, heart disease, high blood pressure, cancer and diabetes.